Slow Cooker Stuffed Peppers

These were so yummy and easy! We loved them and I will be making these again soon with all of this cold weather. I found this recipe on a blog that I can’t seem to find the name of so if this recipe is yours please let me know so I can give proper credit. The only ‘problem’ that I had was that the peppers started to get soft so they were starting to fall over and everything was falling out but they were worth it!!

INGREDIENTS

2 large bell peppers (I used 4 small peppers)
1/4 lb ground beef (I used 1 lb and it was perfect)
1/4 cup chopped onion (I used white onion since it didn’t say which)
1 small clove garlic finely chopped (I used 2 cloves)
1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cumin ( I didn’t use any because I was out)
Dash of red pepper
1/8 tsp cinnamon ( I didn’t use any because I thought it would be weird, haha.)
1/3 cup uncooked rice
1/2 cup water

DIRECTIONS

1)  Cut thin slices from stem end of each bell pepper to remove top, seeds and membranes.
2)  Rinse peppers.
3)  Cook beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat in skillet until brown.
4)  Drain.
5)  Stir in tomato sauce, salt, cumin, cinnamon, and red pepper.
6)  Stir in rice.
7)  Divide beef mixture evenly among peppers.
8)  Pour water into 3 1/2 to 4 quart slow cooker; stand peppers upright in cooker.
9)  Cover and cook on low heat setting 4 to 6 hours or until peppers are tender.
10)  Garnish with cheddar cheese.

To me what really made the peppers was the cheese at the end!!! I served it over mashed potatoes and it was amazing!!!

100_1025

Yummy! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

